Buddha Mandalas

There are many types and varieties of Mandalas depending on the nature of the central deity, and they have distinct concepts and different purposes. The individual representations range from the so-called Cosmic Mandalas, which transmit the ancient knowledge of the development of the universe and the world-systems which represents a high point among Mandalas dedicated to meditation; to the Mandalas of the Medicine Buddha which demonstrates how the Buddha-power radiates in all directions, portraying the healing power of the Buddha.

The symbolism of meditation Mandalas has a rich tradition. The outer form of these so-called holy circles is a geometrical diagram, a Yantra, and each detail of its construction has symbolic meaning.

Particularly in mandalas featuring deities in their wrathful (krodha) forms, one finds eight cremation grounds (smasana) arranged in a wide band and marking the next concentric circle of the mandala. Each is associated with one of the cardinal or intermediate points of the compass.Each is associated with one of the cardinal or intermediate points of the compass.

The palace walls are golden and encrusted with jewels, each gate surmounted by two gazelles adorned with streamers and facing the wheel of the Buddhist law (dharmacakra). The temple-palace includes sacred and royal symbolism, reflecting ancient ties between sacred and royal societies. In the temple-palace (kutagara) appear the mandala's various circles of deities. Some mandalas house hundreds of deities, others far fewer. Regardless of number, deities are arranged symmetrically, marking the four cardinal points of the compass, the intermediate points. At this point in the mandala, one may find four "offering goddesses," embodiments of offerings made to the mandala's central deity. Finally, at the center of the mandala lies the deity with whom the initiate identifies and whose characteristics he or she hopes to share.

The various symbols used in the Mandala are:

  • Diamond: the indestructible diamond, clear, yet showing all colors, becomes a symbol of the nature of the mind
  • Bell: the female part of the Tantric polarity: the symbol of emptiness - the boundless openness, giving room for wisdom
  • Vajra: the male part of the Tantric polarity: the symbol of effective means and Buddha's active compassion with the meditating person.
  • Dharma Wheel: the eight hubs are a symbol of the Eightfold Path, leading to perfection
  • Lotus: symbol of the teaching of Buddha. This plant stands with the roots in the mud, yet rises its blossom towards the light. One should aim to be like it. The symbol of Buddha lives in the center of the mandala, surrounded by eight Buddhas for meditation - symbolic deities: four male and four female. These figures, facing the corners of the earth form together a lotus flower.

For Urgent Assistance : Email:query@craftsinindia.com

Arts In India

Textile In India

Handicrafts In India
Craft From States
Sculpture In India

Jewelry From India

Gift Ideas In India

Accessories In India



Explore the colors and images of incredible India at this rare online gallery of Indian Paintings, consisting magnificent Madhubani paintings, mysterious Warli paintings, Patachitras, Tribal Paintings, Thangka Paintings and also contemporary Indian art paintings.